#71 Book Pitch #1

August 17, 2015 at 8:13 am | Posted in Adoption differences, adoption issues, Identity issues, Is this forever? | Leave a comment
Tags: , , , , , ,

Being raised that modesty is a virtue, I’ve had a very difficult time with the concept of pitching my books.  I’ve rarely done it.   However, with the Randy's Ridecurrent release of my fourth book, I’m changing my mind, at least for a little while.  All my books were written from a need, not mine, but others.   I wanted to help people understand how deep adoption issues can be.  I’ve done this twice in non-fiction format and twice in novels.  Just the other day I told some birth mothers that I wish someone had written a book like Randy’s Ride” so my teen-age son could have read it when he was young.  Years later, I wrote it for others’ teen-agers.

 

Randy’s Ride is the tale of an adopted teen-ager who leaves his loving adoptive home because he feels he doesn’t fit in.  He hitch-hikes around several states trying to find a place where he does fit.  Life (and people) teach him in the following months that he is in charge of making his life what he wants it to be.  His birth parents and his adoptive parents are an influence, but ultimately he makes his own decisions.  He, himself, is in charge of his actions and the direction he takes his life.  He is the one responsible.

 

My son didn’t know that as a teen-ager.  Very few do.  He had his own personality and gifts from life and they were different from those of the rest of our family.  He struggled trying to feel a part of a family that he felt he couldn’t connect with.  If  he’d read a book like Randy’s Ride I think it might have had an effect on his thinking and hopefully short circuited his many years of struggling with the feeling that he was a victim of adoption.  This is so very, very common in adoptees.

 

My son has subsequently done an amazing job with his life and is successful in all aspects. Very successful.  He did this by himself, pulling himself up by his own boot straps.  But, this is the hard way to do it.  I wish he’d had “Randy’s Ride to plant an idea that he was not a victim, and the world was open to him and he was in charge of, and responsible for, his own life and subsequent accomplishments.

 

So – if you know of an adopted teen-ager or adult who is struggling with a question of identity, or a feeling of loss, or feeling like a victim of adoption, please consider Randy’s Ride.  It’s heartbreaking to see someone you love sell themselves short.  Often people don’t accept help from those closest to them, but something objective like a book or another person’s story that you can connect with, could be the answer.  I wrote Randy’s Ride hoping it would do just that.

 

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

